Saturday, 1. April 2006
Yarrrrrrrn and a bit of happiness.
First af all, I didnt expect all those kind and wonderfull replies to my shawl, which was also posted here: Here. Try to take a peek at all the comments, I couldnt believe it that every time I opened my mail box there were 5-6 new replies.
The shawl is wearing really well, I almost havent taken it off since it finished drying, and it hol me warm and snug now in this "dont want to wear a large sweater but it is too cold for just a tee" weather.
It was really nice to see over at Em's, she has put a little link to me in the sidebar with a few kind words about my shawl.
Thanks Em!

Today I also went and got a large grocery bag full of yarn. It was so full, that when I sat in the car and wanted to take a skein out to look at it, three other skeins jumped out in my lap.
There was a large skein of This, two largish skeins of This (we vere lucky em, she's completely sold out of it now). There were also three skeins of This, a skein of this, and finally, two wheels of this, though she has taken the colour down that I have bought - it is a dirtyish white with light and dark blue.

The first three skeins are for you, Em - they smell a bit funny of some herb or other, I guess it was to keep the moths away, but I will hang it in the fresh air (if the rain ceases) before I send it off Monday.
If the Villa yarn is not enough for a sweater vest, you could always knit a shawl for your grandmother, or try to combine it with another sport weight yarn.

The wool/linen yarn and the green/yellow Kauni was for my mother who wants to knit a summer sweater, and needs the green kauni for a coat she is currently knitting.

For myself, I bought the unspun yarn because I wanted to try it, see how it felt and explore its possibillities - maybe spin it, knit it as-is, use as a felt accent when handfelting, who knows what can be done with it?


After I completed my shawl I have hit a bit of a knitting slump. I am craving colours, colours, colours, but the three projects I am currently working on are all in one, solid colour.

That would be Samus in a nice stretchy 50% wool / 50% acrylics yarn, slim-fit, for my friend that I am going to visit in Taiwan for a month from May 15 - June 12. I would have loved to go earlier, but my nephew will be baptized May 14 and I couldnt bring it over my heart to miss that.
I am knitting it in a lavender-ish colour, and honestly... This is both the first and the last time I am going to knit with that yarn. It is consisted of 12 tiny plies, and when cabling I often only get half a stitch, and st. st. flat has ridges because the yarn is so stretchy. I hope it will turn out to be a lovely sweater anyhow.

I am also knitting a pair of Sock-a-paloooza socks in solid pink. I dont like pink, and I dont like the lace pattern I am using - though I know my pal will love it.

More lace: The Rosebud Shawl in 1-ply cobweb lace. I have most of the centre pattern knit, but the Rainbow Pi came in the way and took me to a beautifull land where large shawls grow :-)

Currently I am forcing myself to knit a few rows of sock every day, and for Tv knitting (I seem to avoid the Tv.. hmmm) I knit a Samus sleeve.
Slow, but steady, I guess?
Pardon me while I go and play with my unspun yarn. I'm so unfaithfull to my knitting.

Have a nice day
Lene