Thursday, 20. April 2006
I knit for others, too.
Sometimes a knitter asks herself: I am knitting, but for who, and why?
I know why I am knitting. I knit to keep myself occupied and keep my brain from running wild. Now, after having knit for years, I know that I also knit because I love having things I made myself and because I love giving things away (I dont, however, love the fretting out over the possibillity that they wont love my object, and the trying to make a perfect object...)

I have compiled a post with the things I have knit for "Wumse". I am modelling the sweaters while he photographed, but a 1.3Megapixel cam wont yield good pictures. "Wumse" is my best good friend and deserves every one of those knit objects - including the knit elephant from Kath Dalmenys World of Knitted Toys that is just too ugly... and the two miss-shaped pairs of socks. I want to unravel them and bury them, but he insists on keeping them - because they are love. Not everyone has so much friendship and love as he, he tells me, when he can take out the large sweaters I made him and feel the soft wool in his hands, knowing every inch passed through my hands - and many of them two or more times.



I knit him a finger puppet elephant. Sans pattern and more "love" then "art" :-)



Next up, a rabbit made from a square(!), I think I got the pattern from Heartstringsfiberart, but I know I used a 6-ply sock yarn.



Felt Elephant. Prettiest object I have ever made in felt... I love it so. It stands about 5" tall at the head.


(nearing the Juicy stuff.. hoo boy)



"KysMik" slipover from Elsebeth Lavold's first book on viking knitting, actually, due to a boo-boo on my part, it says "KimSyk". Oooops! He doesent use it much because it is quite small... Again, it's the love, and not the usage ;) I wanted to unravel this (at least the front) and reknit it, because I knit it much tighter and it is much smaller. If I reknit it and knit another few inches at the bottom it might fit.... but he wont allow me!



This was the first thing I ever knit for him, and the first sweater I knit. It is made out of naturally variegated alpaca in many funny colours - the skeins all differed a lot. It fits funnily and the cast-on edge is very tight, but well.... I didnt knit for the object, I knit for peace of mind.


I think this one this one is the most perfect of the knitted things I made for him.



Knit on US6/4mm needles, size "MegaMan" with a horseshoe cable on the front and a corrugated rib all over. He tried to describe this pattern for me when he saw it in a magazine, and told me that it had "Longhorn skulls all down the front". My mother told me it had cactii all down the front.. while I insisted on calling them tulips! We never agreed on the name, but we do agree on that they are well-placed in this sweater :)
The original pattern called for knitting it all in pieces and sewing it together. Sew together a raglan in size MegaMan?? No way that would be going to happen! I love it, he loves it, and everything is good :-)
The socks I am holding are ones I made him too, he uses them much and I love them because they hold up so good. Means I dont have to knit him new ones every year :-)

This is also, and notice this: The First Picture Of Me I Have Liked For Years! Yesss, losing weight DOES have its advantages!

Have a nice day

Lene