Tuesday, 9. May 2006
Zippers, oh woe...
I had the perfect zipper for Samus all ready while I was knitting it. An off-white one with large plastic teeth, just like i had envisioned it. I thought the lenght was right because I had held it up against the font a few times.

Sadly, when Samus was washed the zipper was 1" too long! I was not going to try and stretch the fronts, because my mother and grandmother both told me that the jacket would pucker like mad if I did that (Imagine... this is my first time setting in a zipper!).

I went looking in mothers zipper-stash and found a red one in just the right lenght and quality. I think I proved my "weird sense of colour" here, because fire-truck-red and lavender-purple seemed like a good combination to me. (But to me, petrol/brown/pink is a real winner, too, as is burgundy/silver/ice blue...).

I had the red zipper all ready to sew in when my mother horrifiedly told me to take that one out a bit quickly. This means that I have to go looking for a zipper all over again. I hope to find one in Flensburg today, but havent set my hopes too high because the one place where I for sure know I could get one is a bit out of the way. Otherwise I will have to wait for thursday when we are in Haderslev (Oldest brother, SIL and my sister are riding, I watch them and my mother takes care of Nephew).

I hope I will get this done in time - and why not, it shouldnt take all that long to sew in a zipper, right? :-)

Have a nice day

Lene