Tuesday, 9. May 2006
Denying.
I live at my parents house, in the room Ive lived in (almost) since the house was built 20 years ago this fall.

It is on the first floor, and thus has one wall that is a 45 degree angle. To make a good use out of this room, that side of the room has three large closets and the head end of my bed (see picture).
The leftmost closet was originally made for hanging clothes in - just that I have never used it for that. It has always been empty... and it has a little secret too! In the back of it there is a 10-yo-girl-sized hole that leads to a secret hiding place... :-)

Now, I had this thought of knitting a cardi and wanted to see what I was hiding in there - having thrown one bag of yarn in there after the other, all the while exclaiming to my mother that SHE had WAY more yarn than I!!

First, a picture to explain:



Well.

I have a wall o' boxes as well:



One for sock yarn (whole skeins.. the leftovers are somewhere else), one for "luxury leftovers" (Kauni, Silk, felt, luxurious fabrics...) and one for "scrap leftovers" (not scrap, but not luxury either!). That's a 2pound ball of white NZ wool beside the boxes.
Underneath them there are three more boxes, 23,5" x 16" x 16", one with spinning stuff (mostly wool), one with handspun mostly and one with "yarn". In the "yarn" box there is enough yarn to make three sweaters in ONE kind of wool! Plus a few other nice skeins, smaller amounts etc.

One vintage Phildar Yarn, a very weird yarn, a faroese 3-ply yarn in grey and lots of worsted weight WOTA and Peruvian Highland Wool in nicely coordinated colours.

Then comes my Closet Of Shame.

Wool. For. 11. Sweaters. In. A. Size. 50"!!!!!

1) 3 cones of navy Guernsey wool.
2) 9 hanks á 100 grams white WOTA
3) 700 grams CC220 in teal.
4) A White Lies Design kit for Laura, which I had knitted up to the bust area once but discarded as it looked horrid.
4) 800 grams "Bali" cotton-blend yarn for a Rebecca design that involves crochet! I havent been able to persuade one of the crochet mavens around me to crochet the neckline and sleeve collars yet, so it is on indefinite hold.
5) lots of differently coloured balls of "Merino 2000", a DK weight Merino yarn, which I picked up when my favorite LYS held a "We're moving sale".
6) Peruvian Collection Alpaca, in Sand, 1kg, have knit two sleeves but abandoned it because I didnt like how the body was coming out in the Dancing Vines Tunic. I just need to find a nice pattern for the body, I have sleeves.. :)
7) A bag of "Jil Colour" left over from the Wumse sweaters, natural tweedy colour.
8) Sock yarn, 500 grams, halfway knit up in a ripping candidate.
9) 2 pounds handspun spacedyed wool
10) 1kg Jaeger Shetland in a pretty mid blue.
11) A bag of white worsted wool with no labels on it anymore...

Ow.. I anticipate laughing at me when my mother reads this. She will never let me forget that i have way more wool than she has!

Good thing my recent Ebay escapades have only involved books/patterns....

Have a nice day :-)

Lene

PS: Too bad I was late for Stash-Flashing, I think I might have been able to make some nice pictures :-)