Thursday, 11. May 2006
Travel decisions.
Well, now I cant deny it anylonger: In 4 (four) days, I will sit in a plane and lift off. Destination: First China, then Taiwan. 14 hours, if my time conversion is correct, on a plane. When I was in Texas in 2001 (wild and crazy story) I was sitting in a plane for 9 hours, I wonder how it will be this time? (I dont remember much from the actual flight TO Texas, I think I slept or sat staring out the window in a haze).

Last night I finally decided to bring socks as my travel knitting.

More specific, socks of the yarn Em sent me, two skeins of Lornas Laces in "Purple Club" and Cherry Tree Hill Potluck in "Earth" colours.
I took down Knitting on the Road: Sock patterns for the travelling knitter because it seemed to fitting to me. Plus it is the only book where I could hope to find patterns for these "weird" weights of sock yarn! (No offense, its just that sock yarn is VERY standardized in Germany).

For the Cherry Tree Hill I chose the "Spey Valley" pattern, both because the yarns were almost identical, and because I have wanted to knit this pattern for such a long time.


I started them :-)

For the Lornas Laces I chose the "Conwy" pattern. I think I will be using 2.5mm (1US) bamboos for this and take it on the plane as the other sock is on 2.25mm (0US) metal needles, and I dont want any problems to arise.


Mine will be purple though :-)

I really like this book and have knit one other pattern from it, the "New England Stockings" which I love and adore even though I chose an unfortunate yarn - it shrinks.... I might gift them to my mother as she has small feet (I have a womans size 11).

I got a mail from my Sockpal that my socks are underway! I am very happy and dont mind a bit that they are late - it must be the big size knitting taking longer :-)


I have been playing around on Ebay.co.uk a bit, after following a link to a Jean Greenhowe book (and being smitten by knitting bags.. aww).
I didnt BUY a knitting bag though, but I have bought Jean Greenhowe books!

First, "Jean Greenhowes Irresistible soft toy designs" which arrived today, and second, "Toy Collection" including the Topsy Turvey doll pattern!

A few patterns just jumped at me, especially because of the incredible photographing (can you see the buried bones? the tulips the dog ripped out of the soil? See the feeding bowl?)



There is also a little kitten sitting on a chair with some knitting... a "Puss in Boots", a frog family and the sweetest little basic shape that can be a pig, a rabbit, a koala bear and much more!

Speaking of taking pictures and showing pictures...
One of my pictures from saturday was in the local newspaper! Along with an article on the event... The only one not happy was my little sister because it showed her being imprisoned by two guards (Was a medieval themed market place setting).