Tuesday, 22. August 2006
The WIP I hinted at...
Baby Sweater




Cuddly, and probably a size 1½-2 years, even though my nephew grows just as fast as bamboo







This is the true colour.



This sweaters will probably measure 32cm in the width, and 32 cm to the armholes when it has shrunk - shrinking, because it is an unmercerized, indigo-dyed cotton. I read that it will shrink 20 percent (!!!) in lenght only. I had factored in 15% shrinkage in both width and lenght, but it seems that the piece I have now, at 26 cm, should be lenghtened with another repeat of the large cable (10 cm, or 4"). Gasp. Do I really have to knit 38 cm for such a tiny sweaters? Oh well...

Another issue that I stumbled upon with I researched shrinking, was that I probably should knit the body first, shrink it, and then knit sleeves, shrink them AND some yarn, and sew in the sleeves afterwards. If I were to knit the sleeves down from the shoulders I am afraid that the 20% shrinkage in lenght would make the sleeves look like I knitted them way too wide and sewed them in sloppily just to make them fit. SIGH. I *Could* try my luck at just knitting the sleeves as small as I think they need to be, but who knows if that will do the trick?

I got it on clearance, for just 2$/skein. This was just perfect, because I have wanted to knit with that yarn for a long time, either for me or for my Nephew. It just so happened, that there were 10 balls in this dark blue colour, so I chose to take them home with me and knit something small. Actually, I took 6 balls home with me but decided that I needed more. I got the last 4 balls on that has been marked further down for only 1$/apiece!

This is a Garnstudio yarn, Den-M-Knit, but I was told it was made in the same place as the Rowan yarn. Nice, eh? Quality with a realistic price tag.

The sweater is a little stalled right now, as I am working on the border of the white shawl while I contemplate what to do now - a traditional drop-shoulder, a set-in sleeve, or even a raglan?
I think I want a drop-shoulder, but let me knit another 50 repeats of the shawl edging, and then I think I will decide - because then my shawl is finished.


Have a really nice day


Lene