Monday, 11. September 2006
Princess Beatrice
ETA: Put in another picture of the edging :-)
32 repeats... Err... 22 + 10 ripped-out ones.


As far as I can gather, this shawl was knit for Princes Beatrice (The young one, not the one who died in 1944)!! I need 120 repeats for the edging... 30 for each side.


Following this pattern, using Lisa Souza's Laceweight yarn in Old Gold. The colour on her website is not true, sadly, and the yarn was not nearly as variegated as I had expected after seeing other yarns "Up Close". I like it nevertheless, and there is a little variation in this "Solid" colour. It grows on me.

This shawls story was/is quite confusing, and much Wikipedia-ing happened to learn about several princes, princesses etc. The reason: I had one place seen this adverted as the "Princess Beatrice Christening Shawl", another place "Womans Weekly Cobweb Evening Shawl", and then again, plainly as "Christening Shawl".

As best I can assume, the story behind this shawl is as follows:

1) It is an "updated" (Easyfied) style of "Shetland Shawl", knit borders first - possibly by someone familiar with the style, but perfectly willing to let her circulars get a work-out.
2) The person in question has a very harmonious sense of patterns that work together, and is not afraid to break conventions - this I assume because of the purl pattern in the shawl.
3) It is a rather recent pattern. The pattern I have in my posession was written with a typewriter(!), using letters of an old style*. Either the company uses their typewriters for years, or the pattern IS that old.
4) The abbreviations are very non-standard. I have seen others patterns using more "Modern" abbreviations, dating from 40's +.
5) The picture is a relatively good quality.

Using all these markers to sum up "Something", I would think, that this shawl origins from the 60's (?). It is very hard to date, but adding some of the points to the fact that links this shawl(pattern) to 1988 (HRH Princess Beatrice's DOB), I will assume that the person knitting it for the princess did not design the pattern, or at least had made it public before knitting it for the princess. It could be any person who had knit it, seeing as I cannot find a date of publishing for when it came out in "Womans Weekly". It is probably not as recent as 1988?
There are several other patterns of the same style that can be aquired at Jamieson and Smith's homepage, which leads me to wonder if the same woman designed them all? If it became "Fashion" at one time?


I love pondering things like this! I might have made a good investigator ;-)




*My mother worked with typewriters back in the 70's and informed me of that tidbit.





Dainty and fine... Knitting lace on small needles and with a fairly tight gauge is something really special.