Tuesday, 10. October 2006
The big disadvantage.
The biggest disadvantage of living in your own flat: There is no garden to take pretty pictures in :-(
(There is one, but I wouldnt want to walk in there without asking my neighbours, so I dont.)



Aaanyways. I did really get started on my spinning project!

The wool comes from a naturally grey sheep, one that had to wait quite a time for its shearing. Luckily, it got its shearing, even though the owners wife wanted it to land in the pot. Errr... Owners EX-wife. The outer part of the fleece was totally felted and had to be cut off from the long and soft wool on the inside.
On the first glance, it was solid silver-grey, but as I started to spin it I found both white and black areas, and almost all colours inbetween.





Artistic, no? The yarn is three-ply and roundabout worsted weight.


I will be spinning more of this, both in grey - probably one skein - and several skeins of brown/black wool.


Beatrice!


The edging was finished even before my fictive deadline last thursday! :-o. Of course, there was immediate stitch-up-picking and knitting. At present, there are 13 rounds all in all knitted. Stitch-wise that represents the edge one more time!





Plants growing out of yarn - I thought I had proved that it was the other way around!!


The first pattern is finished - namely a round of small flowers. Next up: 4 repeats of the Horseshoe pattern.
This shawl I am knitting on a 40 cm needle - one should think I am rooting for the title of "Craziest Knitter of the Year" - re. my knitting another shawl on a needle the same lenght, with a finished stitch count of 700+. With a yarn thicker than this, too, where I crammed 960 stitches (ideally, maybe more, or less *grins*) on the needle.



Swap

My swap is not one people can join in on, really, although it makes me think that there should be a website where people could offer to make something and make a wish for something in return...
Wait, off track. Back.

At a spinner's meet this weekend, I met up with "Birthe" again, a person I have met regularily at the last few big spinner's meets these past years. We got to talking about shawls, handspun and the like, and about the absolutely beautifull dolls she had brought with her to sell - both entirely knitted (With the most adorable embroidered features) and knitted/sewn. Those were made like "Steiner" dolls, if that rings a bell with anyone?
We talked and talked, and suddenly she said: "I SO want a shawl out of "this wool", but I couldnt/wouldnt for the LIFE of me knit one!"
I punched her on the shoulder and exclamed: I could knit a shawl for you, and you could make a doll for me! She was very excited at that prospect (just as I), because she loves making those dolls and has done so for over 10 years.

She will be sending me the yarn shortly, and I have already found a pattern I think she will like. (Found = made up). Really, I am on the recieving end of this swap, as she provides yarn for the shawl, yarn for the doll (Troll-Doll), knits the Troll and provides postage. All I have to do is to sit back and knit! :-)
(Aint feeling bad about it though. She proposed to do it that way, she can afford it, I cant.)


Have a really nice day

Lene