Tuesday, 14. November 2006
Cabled-cuff Christmas Stocking.
As promised, here comes a (rought draft of a) pattern for this stocking:


Supereasy



I started by chosing two colours that I liked, and came up with a blue WOTA and some white worsted from my starting to look meager stash. I chose the worsted because the colours were good and because it would be a relatively quick knit.

Then I determined what pattern I wanted to use. The ribbing is quite stretchy and looks fun, but I think an entire wowen strip of cable would look fabulously, too!

I CO 24 stitches (2 selvedge stitches, 16 stitches for the ribbing, and 6 for the main cable), and knit a strip that was "long enough", slipping the first stitch of each row to create a nice chained selvedge - good to pick up stitches in, and good to crochet in - or just plainly leave as-is.

Turns out, "long enough" was 72 rows. It fits around a medium-fat leg, and the whole sock is not much larger than a womans X-large sock - but it stretches.

Then, using Main Colour (Though using a contrast colour would also have been nice) I picked up one stitch in each selvedge chain, distributed these 36 stitches on three DPN's and increased three stitches on each DPN to avoid having a very skinny stocking.

This is where you could put a nice colour pattern on the sock, but I opted out of it as I had reasons to think I wouldnt get more than a round done a day, and really wanted it finished before December!

When I had around 14grams (½ ounce) left of my 1-5/8-ounce-ball (50 grams), I knit a square heel over 26 stitches and 16 rows, dividing it 7-12-7 and finishing the heel. Then I used the blue again, knit until I had *almost* ran out (Had three yards left), switched to white and knit a toe.

The reason for the wide and "wonky" heel is, that it is more roomy that way. Looks more "Stocking-y" that way ;)

When finished, I thought that it was missing something, and decided to embroider my name on the heel in light blue.


Do make a chart if you do not have one already, and use markers

For the last finishing touch, I crocheted a small edging around the top, and made a loop to hang the stocking with.

Overall, this was a very quick project, and most was knitted in front of the computer.

I now have two orders on Christmas Stockings because I showed them that stocking - oh well, when the first one was so much fun, then the next ones must be even more fun, right? ;-)

Have a really nice day

Lene