Wednesday, 22. November 2006
When everything else fails...
Buy Yarn!!



The colour is a smidge too light. In reality, I shrieked when I saw it, grabbed a skein and held onto it while babbling of summer, lighter and darker skies, beaches and rocks

Since The Yarnharlot shamelessly promotes Fleece Artist products, it felt like a good time to show off a bit with the fabulous new store that has opened in the next city: Wollsucht!


Wollsucht used to be just an onlineshop with (many different kind of) sock yarn, Karen Noe yarns and two estonian self-striping yarns.
Now, she carries NORO... DEBBIE BLISS... GARNSTUDIO... Many many variants of the Estonian selfstriping yarn Evilla.
Going into that shop is like entering a candy store, stocked with all of your most favourite stuff.
My mother jumped on this yarn, a muted/dusty rainbow, close to a worsted weight despite the numbers that indicate a chunky yarn (I think....)
She immediately cast on for Dibs on Ribs, an Interweave Subscriber-only Web Exclusive pattern. I had printed it for my yarn, and she stole it *weep*. She hit gauge with it immediately, so I guess it was just not meant to be - until I rework that pattern to fit with my gauge :-)



I am, on my bare skin, wearing a Faroese-style Shawl I knitted out of the "Deep Sea" 8/2 Evilla yarn. As a child developed hives when clad in anything wooly, that says something about the qualities of this wool (And my stubbornness!!)
I must get as much wear out of it as I can until Christmas where it will go to live with my grandmother.

Funny thing, that. Not at all what I wanted to blog about - grandmothers.

My maternal grandmother has always been there for us, and we live just 100m. away from each other - that's just shy of a 2oz skein worsted weight yarn. When asked to draw her, we would always draw knitting or crochet in her hands (or pancakes...). She is mostly knitting now - not for her family anymore since my mother and I do that - but for Charity. Sweaters, blankets, baby sets, scarves etc. for India. I woved to keep her supplied with yarn until the day she died, and until now, I have kept that promise - all kinds of kind people have donated old stashes, unwanted yarns and ripped-out projects. She brings it all together and creates beautifull things right out of her mind, with an astonishing speed.

Seen in that light, I am so proud and happy to give her, 80 this year, a faroese shawl, crafted as best I know to with a superior yarn in a shape she has oohed and aahed over since we first introduced it, coming home from the Faroe Islands with WIPS in our hands. The colours are her colours. Deep blue, turquoise and dark turqouise.

I have not presented it on the blog, true, because I was hoping to submit it to Knitty, but I managed to make the pattern disappear and dont really care about publishing it anymore - as long as my grandma likes it, I think all work and hassle has been work it a hundred times over.


Have a really nice day - and appreciate who loves you, remember to love them back in bunches.


/Lene


Edited 26/11 to fix some faulty HTML!